Johnny Cash releases album of covers

May 2nd, 1965 -

Johnny Cash releases album of covers

In February 1965, 33-year-old Johnny Cash released his 21st studio album on Columbia Records, Orange Blossom Special. The album contained only 2 originals; the remaining 10 tracks, mostly folk standards and country ballads, included 3 songs by then 24-year-old Bob Dylan.

Listen below to track 2 from Orange Blossom Special, "Long Black Veil".


Orange Blossom Special:

01 Orange Blossom Special

02 The Long Black Veil

03 It Ain't Me Babe

04 The Wall

05 Don't Think Twice, It's All Right

06 You Wild Colorado

07 Mama, You've Been on My Mind

08 When It's Springtime in Alaska

09 All of God's Children Ain't Free

10 Danny Boy

11 Wildwood Flower

12 Amen

Gaslight Records is a way of reviving and reliving the music of 50 Years Ago. Unlike any other music site, everything you'll hear or read about on Gaslight Records will be sourced from music that is at least 50 years old.

Follow Gaslight Records on Facebook so you never miss a post.