New album from Johnny Cash

September 7th, 1965 -

New album from Johnny Cash

September, 1965 - Johnny Cash released his conceptual double album, Johnny Cash Sings the Ballads of the True West. The album was Cash's twenty-second studio album and was released only six months after his previous album, Orange Blossom Special.

Listen below to track eight from the album, "Streets of Laredo", a song he would later re-record for his 2002 album, American IV: The Man Comes Around.


The album was also Cash's first release since his May 1965 arrest for public drunkenness in Starkville, Mississippi.

Here is the track list for Johnny Cash Sings the Ballads of the True West:

01 Hiawatha's Vision

02 The Road to Kaintuck

03 The Shifting Whispering Sands, Part I

04 The Ballad of Boot Hill

05 I Ride an Old Paint

06 Hardin Wouldn't Run

07 Mr. Garfield

08 Streets of Laredo

09 Johnny Reb

10 A Letter from Home

11 Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie

12 Mean as Hell

13 Sam Hall

14 25 Minutes to Go

15 The Blizzard

16 Sweet Betsy from Pike

17 Green Grow the Lilacs

18 Stampede

19 The Shifting Whispering Sands, Part II

20 Reflections

Listen below to a track from Cash's previous album, Orange Blossom Special, a cover of Bob Dylan's "It Ain't Me Babe."

Read more about the early interactions between Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash here.


Gaslight Records is a way of reviving and reliving the music of 50 Years Ago. Unlike any other music site, everything you'll hear or read about on Gaslight Records will be sourced from music that is at least 50 years old.

Follow Gaslight Records on Facebook so you never miss a post.