Odetta releases album of Dylan covers

May 19th, 1966 -

Odetta releases album of Dylan covers

In early 1965 American singer/songwriter, Odetta, recorded an album comprised entirely of Bob Dylan covers entitled Odetta Sings Dylan. The album was recorded before Dylan had released Bringing It All Back Home, when he began recording with a backing band, so it contained only covers of Dylan's earlier folk songs.

Odetta must have been granted access to the 24 year old's songbook, since several of these songs were never given a full release by Dylan.

Listen to two songs from the album below.


Odetta Sings Dylan:

01 Baby, I'm in the Mood for You

02 Long Ago, Far Away

03 Don't Think Twice, It's Alright

04 Tomorrow is a Long Time

05 Masters of War

06 Walkin' Down the Line

07 The Times They Are A-Changin'

08 With God on Our Side

09 Long Time Gone

10 Mr. Tambourine Man

Gaslight Records is a way of reviving and reliving the music of 50 Years Ago. Unlike any other music site, everything you'll hear or read about on Gaslight Records will be sourced from music that is at least 50 years old.

Follow Gaslight Records on Facebook so you never miss a post.