Otis Redding releases live album, recorded earlier this year

July 30th, 1967 -

Otis Redding releases live album, recorded earlier this year

Otis Redding has released a new album of live recordings, backed up by Booker T. & the M.G.'s. Recorded in March this year, Live In Europe includes covers of The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and The Temptations.

Live In Europe's opening track, "Respect" reached No.1 on Billboard charts in June with its reinterpretation by Aretha Franklin. 

Listen to "Respect" from Live In Europe streaming below via Spotify. 


Listen below to track 5 from Live in Europe, a cover of "Shake" written by the late Sam Cooke.


And because we miss him, here's Sam Cooke's version, recorded only a couple of weeks before he was shot in Los Angeles at age 33.


Live In Europe Tracklist

1. Respect
2. Can't Turn You Loose
3. I've Been Loving You Too Long
4. My Girl
5. Shake
6. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
7. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)
8. These Arms of Mine
9. Day Tripper
10. Try a Little Tenderness

25 year-old Otis Redding also released a duet album earlier this year, King & Queen, his sixth studio album to date. 

Redding will be headlining at the Annual Shower of Stars concert next week at the Boston Arena in Boston, MA on August 4th.

Gaslight Records is a way of reviving and reliving the music of 50 Years Ago. Unlike any other music site, everything you'll hear or read about on Gaslight Records will be sourced from music that is at least 50 years old.

Follow Gaslight Records on Facebook so you never miss a post.