Debut album from folk singer, Martin Carthy

July 12th, 1965 -

Debut album from folk singer, Martin Carthy

In 1965, English folk singer, Martin Carthy released his self-titled debut album on the Fontana record label. The album was mostly comprised of traditional folk songs.

Listen below to track seven from the album, a cover of Ewan MacColl & Peggy Seeger's "Springhill Mine Disaster".


Side One

01 High Germany

02 The Trees They Do Grow High

03 Sovay

04 Ye Mariners All

05 The Queen Of Hearts

06 Broomfield Hill

Side Two

01 Springhill Mine Disaster

02 Scarborough Fair

03 Lovely Joan

04 The Barley & The Rye

05 The Wind That Shakes The Barley

06 The Two Magicians

07 The Handsome Cabin Boy

08 And A Begging I Will Go

Gaslight Records is a way of reviving and reliving the music of 50 Years Ago. Unlike any other music site, everything you'll hear or read about on Gaslight Records will be sourced from music that is at least 50 years old.

Follow Gaslight Records on Facebook so you never miss a post.